The LOL Comedy's about time!

The LOL Comedy Honors "Comedy Council" (From L-R) - Talent, Ruperto Vanderpool, Cocoa Brown, Adele Givens, Tina Graham, Robert Rodriguez, and LOL Comedy Honors Creator, Marsha Taylor. (missing from photo is Comedy Council Member, Guy Torry). 

(New York, NY ) - On August 24, 2017, history was made in Harlem.  The first annual LOL Comedy Honors brought together comedians past, present, and future to celebrate those who have made their mark in the world of comedy.  Hosted by veteran comedian and actor Bill Bellamy, the night was filled with special appearances, heartfelt speeches, and, of course, plenty of laughter.



From the moment D.L. Hughley appeared on stage to introduce fellow comic Bellamy, everyone knew this was about to be a very special evening; and the rest of the night did not disappoint.   One after one, comedians, including Luenell, Joe Torry, Cocoa Brown, Talent, Laura Hayes, Jon Laster, Adele Givens, and Terry Hodges, amongst others, took to the stage to not only receive honors, but to pay homage to the men and women who came before them.  


A special element of this unique, and long overdue, awards ceremony was the inclusion of the families of legendary, late comedians including Bernie Mac, Robin Harris, and Charlie Murphy. Family members not only attended, but presented awards to recipients they personally selected to be honored in the names of their loved ones.  It was particularly touching to watch Rhonda McCullough (widow of Bernie Mac) present the Bernie Mac Comedy King of the Year Honor to Lil Rel Howery; as well as Exetta Harris (widow of Robin Harris) and her sons, Antoine and Robin Harris, Jr. present The Robin Harris Legacy Honor to veteran comedian Joe Torry.   Rich Murphy had the distinct honor presenting two awards: The Charlie Murphy Road Warrior Honor, which went to veteran comedian Terry Hodges, and The “Uncle Ray” Murphy Legacy Honor, bestowed upon Jon Laster.  


Amongst the many highlights of the night were witnessing the presentation of George Wallace with the Living Legend Honor,  Marsha Warfield receiving the Comedy Queen Pioneer Honor, and the one & only Paul Mooney accepting the Icon of Creative Excellence Honor.  As a way of recognizing the next generation of comics, internet sensation, Juhahn Jones was presented with Tns Social Media Influencer of The Year Honor.  A special tribute was presented to The Queens of Comedy, and a sentimental In Memoriam video montage that included everyone from Richard Pryor to Dick Gregory had many wiping away tears.  


Bellamy kept the audience in stitches throughout the night with his quick wit and personable charm. In addition, there were impromptu jokes, a fun and energy rousing call @ shout routine by the legendary group Full Force, and the hilariously funny Luenell who was not only the recipient of The Moms Mabley Honor, but a real trooper who showcased her standup skills when asked to fill in during a break in the show.  


It’s hard to believe that with so much talent, comedians have not had an awards show to call their own...until now.  The 2nd Annual LOL Comedy Honors will be back in 2018, bigger and better than ever!  


     Click here for a list of
       THE 2018 HONOREES


  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon

Follow Us